Skip to content

On Trust and the Future

June 17, 2012

Trust was not always been an easy mindset for me. 

I often found myself suspicious and I have always been adept in the art of creating reasons something was wrong, troublesome, or not going to work.

Part of my disease, I suppose.  Definitely part of what could easily be defined as a “problem”.  The difference is who I am today.  The change is within a program that has taught me through fellowship, surrender, inventory, amends, maintenance, prayer, meditation, and service. 

Does that mean that I don’t have any more problems?  No.  What it does mean, however, is that I am able to understand that most are never problems to begin with and when, perhaps, there is an issue, all that is needed is an understanding…  enough to evaluate the course of action towards a solution.

What about trust?  That’s a tough one.  I have worked hard to remember that trust is earned and cannot be achieved without risk and patience.  I have felt the need to remain suspicious with many parts of my life over the years.  Little by little, however, in relationships, friendships, and situations, I have found that there is much to trust in this life.  A relief and a weight lifted.

When I find myself in places that scream for solution (whether the “problem” exists or is exaggerated by an over-active and over-worked mind,) I have learned that the first answer I must reach for is a reminder to trust.  Trust God.  Trust the path.  Trust myself.  Trust period.

I am aware that I have reached a place in my life that could only be described as a “fork in the road.”  I know I am there because the path is no longer what it used to be.  I am compelled to express and feel a need to change and grow and the only thing I can do to determine how or in what manner is to keep an open mind and trust that answers will be revealed.

The future begins immediately.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

