Skip to content

What the HELL are they talking about?

January 20, 2014

For a lot of my life it has either been inferred or told to me that I was going to hell.

I suppose there was a time where I felt I was being maligned or judged harshly by what can only be described as information based on fear pointed at others with a need to build an accuser’s own sense of who they are.  After all, being told you are going to hell can be a bit of a buzz kill in a world so heavily bent on defining what is right and wrong based on the writings of Earthbound human beings and symbolic places where nobody has actually been.

Especially in “celebrity.”

Falling back on religion as a reason to publicly assign after-life lodgings on those who are different than you is pure and simple bigotry dressed up in theatrics and morality.  It’s even more ironic (and hypocritical) when it is accompanied by the condescension of friendship and “understanding.” for those who you are condemning.

“Some of my best friends are gay,” they’ll say, “but my bible tells me they will go to hell.”  And what exactly does that mean?  Does it mean that we will burn?  Is it merely an after-life segregation of the “chosen” judgmental “master race” from the rest of us?  Is hell a place that doesn’t include the judgment of others who need to insinuate that if you are not what they choose to be, you are less of a human being?

I am fine with going wherever they are not.

If Hell is to include the people I have had the honor to have met, befriended, enjoyed, admired, loved and emulated I can only see a pretty amazing and creative place.  Even if Hell were to be the evil, dark and negative destination so often parroted by the fearful throngs of believers I would tend to suggest that those who will attend would not only make the best of it, but decorate it beautifully, cater it with taste, entertain it with magnificence, educate with intention, feed the less fortunate amongst us, and heal those who may have encountered the judgment in life recently vacated.

The truth is Hell is a convenient theory.  It is a tool used to insinuate “authority” within fear-based opinion about homosexuality.  It is parroted endlessly by people who find it to be a righteous means to justify their narrow views and proclaim fellow humans as, essentially, unequal.  I do not wish to condemn or judge those who identify with religion. We are all created the same and merely educated differently.   I, like them, understand the need for faith.  I myself have searched for and found it.

What I don’t understand is the requirement in some minds to use faith to judge and separate, when It IS a much more useful tool in providing the means for service and love through understanding and acceptance of others.  Why would any religion’s God create man to be condemned?

Hell no longer frightens me because I don’t believe in judgment for the sake of self preservation.  I have finally become comfortable in my own skin and I am pretty sure wherever I go after this life will reflect the true nature of my being and soul in the eyes of a God that I know could be nothing but loving and forgiving.  And lest anyone who reads the bible forgets… we will all need to be forgiven in the end.

On that note I have learned to take what is dished out with a grain of salt and remember my favorite of the four agreements:  Don’t take anything personally: Nothing others do is because of you.  What others say and do is just a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering. (Thank you Don Miguel Ruiz)

Stop. Smile. Breathe.

2 Comments
  1. Kevin permalink

    Love it, cuz!! I believe He’ll is right here on earth when we are NOT being who we are.

  2. I, too, have always thought of hell as being here on earth, when life is beyond what we can handle.

Leave a Reply

