Skip to content

Everyday is Groundhog Day

February 7, 2016

I was recently reminded by a woman I love to listen to every Monday night that we, as “alcoholics,” suffer from a disease needing daily treatment (now being connected to the brain and the way we are wired.) As a result we tend to live in a world which feels like the movie “Groundhog Day.”

For those few who may not have seen this feature out of 1993, it focuses on a bewildered Bill Murray who is doomed to repeat Groundhog day over and over until he gets it right. In the case of the recovering alcoholic, getting it “right” will not result in the end of the repetition, but could, if we are lucky, create the proper habits and mindset to make each day a little bit easier.

There is, of course, the concept of life on life’s terms.  If I were to repeat the things I’ve learned which help me to be a better person and feel the results with a happier, well adjusted existence I could, in theory, ride along for a good long stretch of smooth and painless road.  It is, in my experience, the sharp curves, roadblocks and unforeseen challenges that make how we use our program all that much more important.

Every morning I wake up with the same disease in my head.  I don’t want to do the things I am supposed to do.  I am stubborn and possibly angry, I am tired and usually unwilling.  It is as a result of learning and taking steps and methods for seizing the moment and re-directing the voices I am creating or hearing where I will align my day with some semblance of order and peace.  Once these habits are created I can wipe the steam off the window of my life and seeing a clear and much better vision of the plans and exercises lying ahead of me.  Little by little I am building up the proper resistance to all the factors determined to sabotage and stand in the way of my success and happiness.

The daily reprieve.

If and when I use the tools I have learned (and forever keep myself open to the possibility of learning and growing through awareness and willing affect) I am afforded the hope and possibility of a good, spiritual, and rewarding day.  The ratio of good days vs bad as a result of said awareness and the actions taken to replicate things learned along with the acceptance of the results without expectation or ego involved, is enormous and gratifying.

But then I must go to sleep and start the entire process all over again the very next day.  And then next one, and the next one, and the one after that.

Groundhog day.

Fortunately I have learned as a forerunner to the way to live my life with a program (that literally provides instruction,) that I must do it one day at a time.  If I were to imagine the scope and trial of the repetition for the future I may not be as willing to accept the moment I am in enough to reach for the solutions I know I have.

In the end I suppose the easiest way to understand and accept what I offer here (and has been offered to me previously,) is to set the goal for each Groundhog day as the repeat of a good experience.  If it is something I understand will be worthy of the work, the work will not necessarily feel as much a chore as a way of living.  This needs to be about the living and the result:  happiness.  I have learned day by day just how worth it that can be.

Stop. Smile. Breathe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

